2011 Elan D'or Awards

Provided by Tokyograph

2011-02-04 - The 2011 Elan D'or Awards were presented on Thursday by the All Nippon Producers Association. As usual, the highlight of the event was the presentation of the "newcomer awards," given to actors and actresses who were notably active over the past year and who are now drawing high expectations. On average, this year's batch is older than usual: Kenta Kiritani (30), Michiko Kichise (35), Takeru Satou (21), Nao Matsushita (25), Osamu Mukai (28), and Hikari Mitsushima (25).

Matsushita and Mukai received particular attention due to being the co-stars of the much-talked-about drama series "Gegege no Nyoubou," which significantly boosted both of their careers.

The TV Taro Award for best film went to Tetsuya Nakashima's "Kokuhaku," while the TV Guide Award for best drama went to the taiga series "Ryomaden."

In the producer awards, Yuji Ishida and Yutaka Suzuki won in the film category for their work on "Kokuhaku." Genki Kawamura received honorable mention for "Akunin" and "Kokuhaku." In the television category, Kei Suzuki received the prize for "Ryomaden," and Fumi Hashimoto received honorable mention for "Freeter, Ie wo Kau."

Two special awards were handed out: one to actress Shinobu Terajima to celebrate the fact that she won the Silver Bear award for Best Actress at last year's Berlin International Film Festival, and the other to the production team behind "Gegege no Nyoubou."

Related news:
2009-06-03 Hiro Mizushima leads live-action "Beck" movie
2010-12-19 34th Japan Academy Prize winners announced
2010-10-20 Kengo Kora cast as Mao Inoue's husband in "Ohisama"
2010-10-06 Nikkan Sports Drama Grand Prix: NatsuNiji, Hotaru no Hikari 2
2010-09-27 "Gegege no Nyoubou" ends with strong ratings

What do you think of that?